[50 Things] 2. Call someone you love

2. Call someone you love back home a few times a week, even if just for a few minutes.

I wish someone had stressed this more to me during my freshman year.

My first year was so extremely dense in activities, meeting new people, becoming more independent and managing my schedule that things like calling someone you love back home sat on the back burner for months. Of course, I would occasionally call home, but not in the way that I should have. I was busy cramming my plans, classes, clubs and other activities that it didn’t matter to me whether I was constantly updating people at home.

Carve out some time, perhaps during the relatively slow moments of a lazy Sunday evening, and call mom and dad. From their perspective, they’re going to want to hear from you and what you’ve been up to. I started calling home more often during my sophomore year, and especially during the sophomore slump (confusion about what to major in, career paths and personal relationships), my parents really helped me through the chaos. I would say it’s better to call them more consistently, but you don’t need to sit and talk for hours. Skype is even better. It’s good for your heart to slow down and recollect your feelings on a weekly basis so you don’t get fully caught up in all the commotion at college.

Same goes for friends! Being an international student (as international as Canada can be), there are remarkable differences between college experiences in both countries. There is lots to talk about. Common questions from Canadian friends: What’s Greek life all about? How do classes work? What do you do on weekends? What’s your dorm like? The list goes on.

I don’t think you need to call your friends a few times per week, but family at least once a week will keep everyone sane. Even for a few minutes, as this tip so aptly says.

And of course, you can call me anytime.

love your parents

Background image is a still from “New York I Love You”, which is one of my favorite movies. (Hint, hint)

One thought on “[50 Things] 2. Call someone you love

Leave a comment